Would you go for an expensive place but a dream place or a cheaper one and upgrade later?

Discussion in 'What to buy' started by trustnoone, 22nd Sep, 2020.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. trustnoone

trustnoone Well-Known Member

Hi everyone, would love to hear your thoughts on this. I'll preface that I'm a newb who would love to buy a house in the next 12 to 24 months.

I get about $90k a year, though I may be moving that up to $100k a year (pre tax, have HECS, leave loading and super is extra).

I'm a single guy with no dependents and no debts (besides HECS). As such I've been looking at my borrowing power which seems to move from $400k to $680k in some places. Assume I can afford only 5% LMI.

I've always figured I'd buy a place in a block of units near $400k an hour out of the CBD Sydney (by train). Hopefully 2 bedroom and at some point sell it again for a dream house or retirement place.

But I'm looking on realestate.com.au and noticing some places 1.5 to 2 hrs away at closer to $500k to $550k a house with 3 bedrooms. Thats like my dream home and I'm wondering if I'm crazy thinking to just buy the dream home? Then I don't even have to do the sell resell thing?

Interested in peoples thoughts on the scenario, but also if you would you do the same? Initial estimates say I can pay off a $400k place in 15 years based on my current savings (2.5%) but honestly I'm more worried that rates will jump to like 5% or even 7%.

I feel like there's something I'm missing as a newbie at this. Thanks so much.

2. Seb_W

Seb_W Active Member

Hi there is a few things to consider, but its largely related to your goals:

1. Proximity to the cbd - how important is this for you? If you are travelling in for work everyday, do you want to spend 4 hours commuting?