Why you should NOT buy dual key homes

Discussion in 'What to buy' started by Simon L, 7th Feb, 2020.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Simon L

Simon L Well-Known Member

I get asked a lot by clients and builders about dual key homes so I thought I'd share my thoughts.

A dual key home is essentially a property on one title that looks like a normal house from the outside, but has the floorplan of 2 separate units.

Dual key homes have been around for years but have grown in popularity in recent times with the promise of high cashflow and depreciation benefits of a brand new build. To add fuel to the fire, there have been a growing number of third parties spruiking these benefits to naive investors. As a Buyers Agent, I get asked a lot about these types of properties (from both clients and builders wanting me to push their product), and in short, I always advise clients to steer clear.

Here are some reasons why:

1. The end product is rarely worth the money it costs to buy the land and build which means you are overcapitalizing in the end and most likely in negative equity on day 1 (one of the reasons why many lenders don't lend for this type of property and the ones that do require a minimum deposit). If there is a 3rd party involved, they are likely taking a HUGE cut in commissions from the builder (upwards of $45,000!!) - which you are essentially paying for

2. Finding 2 different tenants who want to live in this type of property and can live so closely to each other long term is another challenge. You will run into more tenancy problems and vacancies which will erode your 'promised' cashflow over time.