Why do cheques still take so long to clear?

Discussion in 'Money Management & Banking' started by wylie, 30th Jul, 2021.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
Tags:
  1. wylie

wylie Moderator Staff Member

It is 2021 and I can't believe it has taken from Monday until this morning to have a cheque cleared.

I used to work in a bank in the lending area, but used to help Friday night balancing in the branch (late 70s) and assume cheques are still left in the night bag to be collected physically, taken to a clearing house, redirected to the appropriate bank and processed.

Does this still happen? I still have noticed bags inside branch doors at night, so I assume so. When I can make an Osko payment and have it immediately in someone's account, why are cheques taking four nights to clear?

I'm just curious why everything else in life is moving fast, and this seems to be stuck in the dark ages.

Cousinit and qak like this.
  2. Trainee

Trainee Well-Known Member

Because the delay is built into the physical nature of the medium. Thats why the solution is to stop using cheques, instead of making it faster.

3. skater

skater Well-Known Member

@wylie I used to also work at a bank (80's). I was in a Branch & every day, all day long someone would be inputting cheques as well as the normal deposits & withdrawals. The cheques that came from other banks would get sent out overnight, as you mentioned, but the ones from our own would be input that day. So you would have a 3 day clearance for other banks, and bank cheques would have immediate clearance. Nowadays even bank cheques have the same clearance as other cheques.

I believe it's deliberate, as they want people to stop using them.

Cousinit, wylie and Phoenix Pete like this.
  4. Scott No Mates

Scott No Mates Well-Known Member

You can't use the excuse that 'the cheque's in the email', they won't believe you.

Phoenix Pete and datto like this.
  5. Mark F

Mark F Well-Known Member