WHO says not to lock down for COVID?

Discussion in 'COVID-19' started by MTR, 13th Oct, 2020.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MTR

MTR Well-Known Member

No one had picked up on this, when it is so huge

WHO now saying lockdowns should not be main covid defence...... what the hell
    Egg on face..... and what I have been saying for 6 months

Sorry Simon ...... had to post this
    Can it be placed in Australia covid thread. I cant do this:). Thx

Has the WHO backflipped on its own lockdown advice?

Serveman and Ostraylia like this.
  2. Propagate

Propagate Well-Known Member

Not egg on face at all, and as usual reported wihtout full context.

The article states:-

"The only time we believe a lockdown in justified is to buy you time to reorganise, regroup, rebalance your resources; protect your health workers who are exhausted," Dr Nabarro said.

..and then:-

"So when should lockdowns and restrictions be lifted?
    The WHO put out a six-step plan for governments to follow to ease restrictions.

To ease restrictions the WHO says governments should:

• Ensure transmission is under control
    • Make sure health systems can care for every case — including tracing and isolating
    • Minimise risks in health facilities, including nursing homes
    • Have preventative measures in workplaces, schools and other essential places
    • Manage the risk of the virus being imported in from another place
    • Fully educate the community on the new normal, and how they can protect themselves"

NOTE the very first point.

Lock downs are put in place to get transmission under control, then they can be eased with systems in place to contain as much as possible and test and trace, which is exactly what Victoria has been planing for months. Lock down to get on top of community transmission then implement a system where lock downs are no longer necessary.