VIC Where to buy for $1.3m

Discussion in 'Where to Buy' started by ashftc, 12th Nov, 2021.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. ashftc

ashftc Well-Known Member

Hi All,

I am a resident of Sydney and myself, wife and our 1 year old are visiting Melbourne next month as we are considering moving there permanently if things work out (job & property). Prime reason is property market. Being in Sydney, I see a lot of value in Melbourne market, just not sure if I am seeing in the right direction.

We have a budget of $1.3-$1.4m for our 2nd PPOR and we are aiming for large land size (ideally 600 sqm+) and big and modern house or just a land only option and we can construct ourselves. No time pressure. I understand we have a tight budget hence we know we won't get anything closer to the city with what we want.

We need your help in shortlisting some considerable suburbs. I have asked few members before and read this forum as much as I can and from what I understand, East Melbourne then SE Melbourne are highly regarded compared to West and North. As like most young family, good schools and PT are very crucial for us as we would be working in the city. We would prefer a newer nicer suburb, where can find newer houses or land only options which has access to nice schools and good PT to travel to city (preferably under 1 hour journey).

Few of the suburbs/housing communities we have shortlisted to visit are below as per order priorities. We would love to hear your thoughts on them or any new suggestions you may have:

1. Kinley - Lilydale suburb - East Melbourne
    2. Berwick Waters - Clyde North suburb - SE Melbourne
    3. Arcadia - Officer suburb - SE Melbourne
    4. Woodlea - Rockbank suburb - West Melbourne
    5. Harpley - Werribee suburb - West Melbourne