NSW Where and What to buy

Discussion in 'Where to Buy' started by Addy, 27th Jul, 2021.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Addy

Addy New Member

Hello all,

I am completely new to real estate and now trying to get bit of a knowledge.

I am thinking of buying of investment property in Sydney. I am thinking of suburbs like Oran Park or Marsden Park. What are the things that I should look into while buying it. For now I came to know that I need to look like what is the neighbourhood like, school rating, near to shopping centre, near to Public transport, if the area is in flood zone or bush fire.

Also what is would be better buying a already build house (new, 2,3 years old) or buying a House and Land Package.
    Not really sure about H&L package how does that work.

Thank you

2. Trainee

Trainee Well-Known Member

What would you say to a 40 year old weatherboard house?

The Y-man likes this.
  3. dabbler

dabbler Well-Known Member

I would say sold if you offer it for the right price....tell me more....I am not a snob wanting something new so my tenants can totally trash it :)

Branden likes this.
  4. alanyin

alanyin Well-Known Member

There are plenty of discussions on those topics and I would suggest that you start with the search bar in the top right corner.

To give you some quick guidance, imho:
    - You should never buy a house & land package for investment purpose (even when you take into account all the tax benefits etc.). If you run the numbers properly, you will alway end up losing money by investing in new properties. The scenario where you would consider buying a house & land is when you look for your PPOR and you prefer living in brand new houses.
    - For a particular location, timing is more important than suburb selection. It does not matter where you buy (whether it be Mount Druitt or Manly) for a particular city. What does matter is WHEN you buy in a certain location.