wanting to buy another house

Discussion in 'Loans & Mortgage Brokers' started by sauber, 9th Jan, 2016.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. sauber

sauber Well-Known Member

My fiancee and i are looking to buy a property we are looking in townsville the house we'd be wanting to buy.

I currently have my own house in melb and my fiancee are looking to buy one together

The house i have atm is valued around 400k oweing 240k

We' be wanting to buy something around 400k

If anyone can help in how i can achieve this that would be great

Im an apprentice electrician and my fiancee is a teacher.

2. Jess Peletier

Jess Peletier Mortgage Broker & Finance Strategy, Aus Wide! Business Member

Contact a broker - you'll need all your financial info and they'll be able to let you know how much you can borrow, and how best to structure the loan based on your plans and goals.

legallyblonde likes this.
  3. Shahin_Afarin

Shahin_Afarin Residential and Commercial Broker Business Member

Assuming the value of the property is $400,000 - pull out $80,000 in equity and ensure this is a separate loan account.

Use this as a deposit for the new purchase. Do the numbers on the new purchase and see if its best to do the new purchase @ 80%, 85%, 88% or 90%.

Using less deposit now will allow you to have more funds for future use.

4. sauber

sauber Well-Known Member

I was told i can only pull out 17k of equity from bank...ill have to see why its so low. Its with NAB. I think cause bank val and re val are diff yeah?

Last edited: 10th Jan, 2016
  5. Redom

Redom Mortgage Broker Business Plus Member

That 17k number is likely because of one of two things:

1. Your borrowing power is maxed out with NAB. This may be unlikely if thats your only debt and there may be other ways to structure it to get around this.