Trusts Again - do they protect your assets?

Discussion in 'Legal Issues' started by MTR, 3rd Apr, 2016.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
Tags:
  1. MTR

MTR Well-Known Member

Do Trusts really protect your assets?? Had this discussion recently with a friend, and I am no expert and I do understand that Terry has plenty of threads regarding this. (not yet read them all)

However, I think many investors are under the illusion that if you purchase assets in a trust you are protecting your assets, however as a Director you can still be sued, you are still personally liable

Many spruikers such as D Boholt promote setting up a trust for each property (cha ching), this is overkill IMO and also will cost a fortune in accounting fees and just adding another layer of complexity.

So the only real way to protect your assets is if they are encumbered, in other words you have debt against an asset (bank loan).

I know this simple, but I thought this may be worth discussing further.

I wonder how many on this forum buy in a Trust??

Colin Rice likes this.
  2. Bran

Bran Well-Known Member

I just have as we exhausted our land tax thresholds each. Plus will be directing some income into the trust and this will offset the losses made (apparently)

3. Terry_w

Terry_w Lawyer, Tax Adviser and Mortgage broker in Sydney Business Member

This should be in the legal section as trusts are nothing but a legal relationship.

Discretionary trusts provide asset protection if no beneficiary has any right to demand payment of income or capital from the trust. The beneficiaries only right is for the trust to be properly administered. So if a beneficiary were to become bankrupt the creditors will stand in their shoes as beneficiaries but they don't have any right to demand income or capital from the trust. Beneficiaries of discretionary trusts generally have no equitable interest in the property of the trust.