Townhouse development

Discussion in 'Renovation & Home Improvement' started by Janice S, 28th Jun, 2021.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Janice S

Janice S Member

This is my first post here so apologies if it is really stupid. My family owns 2 properties. The one in between is going up for sale. We're thinking of buying it and developing a few townhouses. It is zoned R3 medium density residential. I have no experience at this. The logical thing is sell it all for a profit to a developer who knows what they are doing. Surely that is a good plan.

Alternately we could get someone to build some townhouses. It is a dream to build something exactly how you want it but I fear my lack of experience will turn this into a nightmare. Any tips?

A

2. wylie

wylie Moderator Staff Member

We've just finished our first (and probably last) development.

We had two blocks together, got ourselves a DA to build four townhouses (had to keep the two old houses).

I'm the driving force but hubby was happy to come along for the journey. I felt very much if this failed, it would be my fault and would have preferred more input from him, but was thankful he put his faith in me.

We got the DA and I asked many, many silly questions on this forum, because I didn't know what I didn't know. I didn't even know what questions I needed to ask to learn what I needed to know.

Ultimately, we found a project manager from the forum, by chance really, and he made all the difference. Obviously that came with a cost, but without him and his people, we would really have been babes in the woods. As soon as we met him, we trusted him. You know when you get that gut feeling?