Tools of the trade for investing - Suggestions?

Discussion in 'Property Information Resources & Tools' started by Tim & Chrissy, 10th Dec, 2015.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Tim & Chrissy

Tim & Chrissy Well-Known Member

Any suggestions from the seasoned investors out there about what tools to use when buying, selling or managing your property/properties?

Being a novice I generally use realestate.com.au to check out recent sale prices and other listing prices, onthehouse.com.au to get the last sale price and for property management.......... NetBank and a WordDoc!

TC

2. citystar

citystar Well-Known Member

Buying I use group subscription to Pricefinder (or you could use RPData) for detailed property/street or suburb information. I don't sell or manage myself so can't comment.
    I use Libre Office spreadsheet to record all IP income and expenses for tax time.

3. Tim & Chrissy

I occasionally use RP Data at work (just for ownership info and rough price guide) but haven't used Pricefinder before, which do you prefer?

4. Sackie

Sackie Well-Known Member

One of the best 'tools' I have found is investing in books specifically around negotiation tactics and the like. From personal experience I know It can make a huge difference in the outcome and as you gain more experience, it will become second nature. Just my opinion.

Last edited by a moderator: 4th Nov, 2016
    Esh and albanga like this.
  5. Tim & Chrissy

Which books would you recommend?

6. Sackie

Sackie Well-Known Member

@Tim & Chrissy Well some of the ones I have studied are:

Secrets of Power Negotiating - inside secrets from master negotiator, by Roger Dawson

Negotiating Secrets, by David Brown

A property investor's guide to negotiating, by John Potter

The negotiation book, By Stave Gates

Trump Style negotiation, by George Ross

SerenityNow, Tim & Chrissy and Moych like this.
  7. Tim & Chrissy