Thoughts on my SMSF portfolio

Discussion in 'Share Investing Strategies, Theories & Education' started by Cadbury99, 21st Jun, 2015.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Cadbury99

Cadbury99 Well-Known Member

Below is the makeup of my SMSF portfolio, just wondering if anyone has any comments. I decided to stick 100% to ETF's in SMSF. I've been running this SMSF for just over 2 years and it has returned a little over 16% p.a. after expences. It was around 20% before the recent market pullback.

Symbol Company Name %
    IEM iShares MSCI Emerging market ETF 5%
    IJR ishares US Small cap 7%
    ILC iShares S&P/ASX 20 3%
    IOZ iShares MSCI AUS 200 27%
    IVE iShares MSCI EAFE ETF 8%
    IZZ iShares CHINA ETF 7%
    RCB Russell Aust Corp Bond ETF 3%
    STW SPDR 200 FUND 16%
    VAF Vanguard AUS Fixed interest 2%
    VAP Vanguard A-REIT 11%
    VTS Vanguard US Total Market 10%

To summarise

Aust Equities 46%
    International Equities 38%
    Aust Property 11%
    Aust Fixed Interest. 4%

There's also a small amount of cash (about 1% of value of portfolio).

I have still have an industry super fund with another 15% spread across Aust small caps and international property. I kept this for a number of reasons; access to cheaper life insurance, Aust small caps seem to do better with active management, no international property ETF.

My wife and I are members and still have at least 5 years before we can/will need to access it. The balance does not currently meet our retirement requrements so it still very much a growth focused portfolio. We have a property portfolio mostly in my personal name for which the plan is to rely on once the super runs out.

Also does anyone one have any strategies to limit losses if we have a market downturn without moving everything into to much lower return assets (e.g. Bonds). Anyone tried options as protection in an SMSF?

Thanks in advance.

L3ha7, Hodor and The Falcon like this.