NSW Tenant search & Partial renting procedure

Discussion in 'Property Management' started by Fina09, 6th Dec, 2021.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Fina09

Fina09 Member

I’ve just bought my first home 3 bed 1bath separate toilet(strata property). South west sydney. As this is my first time I don’t have any idea on several things. Planning to rent out 2 rooms and live myself on one. Settlement after ~43days from now on.

- If I buy furnitures before I rent can I tax claim it? Or I’ve to buy them once tenants are in?

- Should I just advertise through gumtree or contact a rental agent? Are rental agent costing one-off? Is the full cost tax claimable?

- Is it better to have a property rent manager? Where can I find them?

- I feel like as I’d live there myself, I’d just need help till finding tenants. Can you suggest some service for finding tenants(conducting inspection,talking to prospective tenants etc.)?

- Have anyone used ray white for tenant finding or rental management ? How’re they?

2. thatbum

thatbum Well-Known Member

It's pretty weird to have an agent to find and manage what are essentially housemates. Just use either gumtree or one of those flatmate websites.

Tom Rivera likes this.
  3. Stoffo

Stoffo Well-Known Member

You could engage a property manager to find you tenants, this will probably cost 2-3 weeks worth of rent each.
    Apart from the tenants one room an inspection report would be useless due to various individual occupants.
    You probably don't want it to turn into a party house, so finding a couple would be better (but you will be the awkward 3rd wheel), it's also best to find people with long term average jobs, too good a job and they will move on too soon or may end up on benefits.
    Read up on how to self manage, particularly lodging the bond, and the process of disputes.