tax question small business

Discussion in 'Accounting & Tax' started by Elives, 19th Oct, 2018.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
Tags:
  1. Elives

Elives Well-Known Member

Hi all,

I'm a plumber and currently a sole trader working for my self 1 man band and currently considering getting a company structure for tax purposes. i work for home owners etc advertise on google

Accountant A has told me that if i set up a company structure with a family trust can i distribute the profit to family members etc my sister/dad and it can be taxed at their lower rate and then they can just transfer it back to me which is allowable.

"Personal services income (PSI)
    Personal services income (PSI) is income produced mainly from your personal skills or efforts as an individual. Income is classified as PSI when more than 50% of the amount you received for a contract was for your labour, skills or expertise."

Accountant B has said that this is not true due to the tax rule above ^ which is correct? is there anything that can be done as i'm soon expected to be in the highest tax bracket (excl neg gearing etc)

Cheers, Elives

Last edited: 19th Oct, 2018
  2. Mike A

Mike A Well-Known Member

You are a plumber working for someone else or you have your own clients ? Advertising your services to the public ? Using your own tools ?

Elives likes this.
  3. Elives

Elives Well-Known Member

i work the public / home owners i advertise on google. i have my own clients.

4. Mike A

Mike A Well-Known Member

@Elives to me that sounds like you meet the unrelated clients test.

1. no one client provides more than 80% of the total income
    2. there are at least 2 unrelated entities
    3. the services are provided as a direct result of offering services to the public at large

if a PSB then PSI rules wont apply.