Subdivision the IP and leaving the lot as it is?

Discussion in 'Accounting & Tax' started by [d4rk-fr3d], 19th Jul, 2020.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. [d4rk-fr3d]

[d4rk-fr3d] Well-Known Member

People,

Apologize for the stupid question as I'm just a newbie investing in NSW.
    I've got one house that is currently rented out as Investment Property in Bayside NSW area.

The property has one main house and already existing granny flat with the land size is 1000+ sqM, hence I am able to subdivide it into two lot of 500-500 sqM.

If I perform subdivision as two lot, let say becoming like:
    • 122 Forrest Road - the existing main house
    • 122a Forrest Road - the existing granny flat
    Questions:
    1. Can the Subdivision cost be tax-deductible as the property is currently rented out as a single contract house?
    2. Can I just subdivide the property without actually applying or getting the separate addressing scheme like the above?
    3. Can I achieve higher selling price with the already subdivided lot or just provide the word STCA in writing only when I advertise the house for selling?
    Your help and suggestion is greatly appreciated.

Thank you in advance.

Last edited: 19th Jul, 2020
  2. Terry_w

Terry_w Lawyer, Tax Adviser and Mortgage broker in Sydney Business Member

1. no
    2. subdivision is changing one title into 2 or more. You could potentially do it without subdividing.
    3. possibly

3. Archaon

Archaon Well-Known Member

will the Grannyflat remain on the house side of the subdivision?

4. [d4rk-fr3d]

No, it will be separated as it is at the back of the property.

5. [d4rk-fr3d]

@Terry_w thank you for the confirmation.
    May I know what is the name of that process and I assume I can also apply for separate Water, Electricity, Gas and NBN lines as well?

6. thatbum

thatbum Well-Known Member

What does this mean?

7. Archaon