Subdivide and sell land vs build. Thoughts?

Discussion in 'Investment Strategy' started by PerthieNewbie, 15th Jan, 2019.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. PerthieNewbie

PerthieNewbie Active Member

Hello

I have a property in Koondoola (bought for $280k, can be subdivided into 3 lots) which is currently rented at $270 per week.

Right now I'm deciding whether to subdivide and sell land or to build.

This is my first project, and I'm just weighing up different options. Interested to hear of different opinions or advice anyone has to give.

My research and strategy is below -

Sell land option -
    Subdivide the back, use the profits to put towards the current mortgage and keep some to put towards a deposit for a another property and subdivision.

Potential sale of land based on recent Koondoola land sale - $160k

Subdivision costs - approx $25-30k (based on other subdivision on same street)
    Agent fees - approx $3k
    stamp duty and fees - approx $5k
    Other misc costs - $10k

Total approx profit before tax- $112,000 (not taking into account land cost etc)

pro - quicker, less overextending finances
    con - harder to sell

Subdivide and build option (to keep as rental) -

Build and subdivision costs - approx $190-200k (quote from builder)

Once completed, rent for around $300 (depending on market at that time), approx rental yield of 5.3%. (250x52 ÷ half of purchase price as estimate plus build cost).

Also rent out the older front house for reduced rent of $250 as the backyard will now be considerably smaller (also depending on market), but that gives rental yield of approx 9%. (250x52 ÷ half of purchase price as estimate).

I roughly estimate based on current comp, that both the new house and old house would be around $555,000 (conservative estimations of $250k for old and $300k for new). And then, use the equity to buy another property and start another project.