Strategies for getting my first property

Discussion in 'Investment Strategy' started by dissimulo, 22nd Jan, 2016.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. dissimulo

dissimulo Member

Hi guys, newbie here so please be gentle.

This forum has been a wealth of knowledge for someone new to property like myself, so I hope that you guys can share some of your wisdom to assist me in acquiring my first property.

So as a late 20 something, I am late to the game compared to many on these forums, but after slogging it out I have finally been able to get a well paying job (paying approximately 90k pa before taxes), I have managed to save up a little over 50k and currently am living with my parents so expenses are quite minimal at the moment. I am currently living in Kensington, Victoria and work in the CBD.

My short to medium term goal would be to own at least 3 properties by the time I get to my mid 30's. In an ideal world, I would love to purchase a positively geared property with huge potential for capital gains, but of course, with property being so unaffordable at the moment, these sort of properties appear long gone.

So given the information I have provided above, what would you guys recommend going forward in terms of choosing the right location, the type of property, the price of the property etc, in order for me to achieve my goal.

Some things that I have considered as an entry point as a first property;

1. Purchase a cheap oldish 2 bedroom flat/unit in the range of about 250k-270k in Footscray and rent it out for potentially 250 pw
    2. Purchase a House and Land Package in Western suburbs (Wyndham Vale/Tarneit/Point Cook/Werribee) for around 350k with rentals potentially 300-350 pw
    3. Purchase a newish 1 bedroom apartment in Maidstone for 300k and possiby move into it in the next 1-2 years.