Starting in Property Development...

Discussion in 'Development' started by vaultdweller, 18th May, 2020.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. vaultdweller

vaultdweller New Member

Hi Everyone

Long time lurker on this forum, first time poster.

I am a business owner in the IT industry (50/50 partnership) and have always had a keen interest in property. Currently i am building my first PPOR with my partner, and the experience so far has been good (touch wood).

I am in a lucky enough position where my company has close to 7 figures in the bank in cash, and given that we have no foreseeable use for these funds for business growth or other investment, i have started to look at alternate ways to make money - property development.

I am under no illusion that it is smooth sailing, or anything is guaranteed - especially in this uncertain market we're in.

I guess i'm looking for some advice for people that may of been in a similar situation to where i am, and were eager to dip their toes in the water and how that experience went and what they learned.

Is it even worth considering development at the moment given the times we're in? My goal is to make at least $100k net profit (before tax) and split this evenly between myself and business partner. Is it preferable to find a block of land and build 2-3 townhouses? Or is it better to find an existing house with renovation potential and a large enough yard to sub divide?

Some pros and cons i can see at the moment:

Pros
    - Potential to get a great deal given lull in market and can offer competitive terms given liquid position
    - No reliance on finance
    - Have a quality builder lined up

Cons
    - Uncertain market times, some forecasts suggesting 30% drops which may completely erode profit
    - Lack of experience
    - Utilisation of company funds to fund project may not be straight forward

By the way i am in Melbourne

Thanks and look forward to some advice

2. thatbum