Starting from scratch...what to do?

Discussion in 'Where to Buy' started by fx hedge, 6th Jul, 2015.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. fx hedge

fx hedge Member

Hi,

I'm new to property investing and looking for some advice on where to invest. I live in Sydney but feel like now may not be the optimum time to make a first investment here. So considering Brisbane, central coast or possibly outer suburbs of Melbourne.

CG potential is more important than CF and looking to buy property value of ~$500k (preferably across 2 properties) initially.

The plan would be to get some good capital growth from an area that is yet to grow and then sell in a few years and buy somewhere in Sydney for the long term.

Where would you be looking if you were in my position?

Thanks

2. Azazel

Azazel Well-Known Member

Hey @fx hedge , there are still some suburbs with houses below $500k in Brisbane, within 10kms of the City if you look hard. I'd be looking close to a train station - but not too close ;)

fx hedge and pugstar205 like this.
  3. Big Will

Big Will Well-Known Member

Is that 500k each or 500k total?

If 500k total and two properties you will be looking at a unit very far out of Melbourne and Brisbane too.

Azazel likes this.
  4. Azazel

Azazel Well-Known Member

Yeah, it would be further out for a unit in Brisbane, very far out for a house. You can still get a 2 bedroom unit within 10kms for just under $300k if you're a good negotiator.
    Some people on here like Logan, can still get a house out there for under $300k. Apparently.

Last edited: 6th Jul, 2015
  5. jins13

jins13 Well-Known Member

Go for a visit to the areas, especially night times. I would say look at data of the areas as well but dont let them be the sole reason/ dictate your actions.
    These days everyone wants a piece of Brisbane and quite possible that I may consider it next year.

6. Steven Ryan

Steven Ryan Well-Known Member