NT Signs of Life in Darwin...

Discussion in 'Where to Buy' started by hammer, 4th Mar, 2017.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. hammer

hammer Well-Known Member

Don't all go rushing in at once but there are signs of Life for Darwin.

It's not about to boom, but if you look, there is a pulse and its still breathing. :) This is an improvement over the past 2 years...

I've been charting the Darwin listings for a few years now and can say that listings are now starting to drop slightly for the greater Darwin region.

But its when you break it down to Darwin and Palmerston you can see some real change. The number of Darwin listings is down significantly....like 15 percent or so whilst Palmerston has increased.

The time on market has reduced (in Darwin) and all of a sudden, compared to the rest of the country the town is now good value.

Unemployment remains Super low and wages remain high.

Vacancy rates in the northern suburbs and outside the city are dropping to around 3.5 percent.

Anyway, I'm seeing signs of life, certainly in the 0810 and 0820 postcodes. The CBD and Palmerston remain a disaster and overall sentiment remains ...er...how should I put this?....."somewhat low"....

Volatility rules up here so this could be a just a small window of happiness too....

Anyway, just reporting on what I see.

H.

2. bamute

bamute Active Member

Since November I've noticed a lot more properties go under contract in the Northern Suburbs. Prior to that the market was stagnant/dropping. As construction jobs wind up prices will drop and people will move from Palmerston back to Darwin.

3. Lacrim

Lacrim Well-Known Member

Agree. The few metro markets in Oz that were on the nose barely 12 months ago are starting to move, albeit slowly. Damn I hate not picking the bottom! :mad:

ellejay likes this.
  4. See Change

See Change Well-Known Member

Hi hammer

I know nothing about the Darwin property market .