Should I be using Buyers Agent?

Discussion in 'The Buying & Selling Process' started by objectattrib, 21st Nov, 2020.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. objectattrib

objectattrib New Member

Newbie here, I'm trying to rationalise whether a BA would be suitable for my current situation. I'm looking for PPOR in the Sydney Upper North Shore suburbs, houses at <2.4m range but the lack of listings, and the general competitiveness, means I spend most of the time refreshing realestate/domain instead of going to inspections (which tbh I enjoy, to workout what I like vs what i dont).
    Would engaging a BA improve the 'stock' so to speak? Especially with the blue chip suburbs, no one seems be in a rush to sell.

On the other hand, putting my vendor hat on, why would I agree to sell off-market (assuming thats one of the biggest value add a BA can bring) when as most observers would see that the bidders and auctioneers are positively frothing every Saturday? The payoff would almost certainly be bigger if they wait ~1month or so for their sales campaign.

Not to mention the cost, which from research seems to be a % of the sale price? at 1-2% of 2m, it racks up awfully quickly...

David_SYD likes this.
  2. Rolf Latham

Rolf Latham Inciteful (sic) Staff Member Business Plus Member

Welcome to PC

Tony Robbins says, be careful you dont "should have all yourself".

Our Team does finance work Australia Wide.

One does NOT need a BA..................but

Whatever one's personal views are, we have found that using a well connected BA team will give a buyer access to a wider level of stock.

It is this, and the value of your own time where the investment ( vs perception of "cost") pays off.

In some market segments in the inner to middle ring Brisbane HOUSE market for eg, I estimate by the time a property gets to a listing on a site, 30 to 40 % of the available stock is already under contract.

ta
    rolf