Shares / Micro Investing - Raiz, Spaceship, Vanguard etc

Discussion in 'Sharemarket Investing Platforms, Tools & Services' started by Annie33rd, 14th Mar, 2022.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Annie33rd

Annie33rd Well-Known Member

Hi,

Just looking for some general advice from people who may have used these apps and platforms for investing purposes. I'm just starting out in the world of investing - looking to purchase my IP this year with a separate goal for that however i wish to also dabble in the shares world or at least start learning the ins and outs. I don't think i wish to trade as i have a 10 month old and returning back to work full time soon. I think i would for now like a transfer and forget strategy until i have the time to actually focus and figure out what is performing best.

Correct me if i am wrong...

Apps like Raiz and Spaceship are pretty simple micro investing apps that are more suited to people starting out. They allow low value deposits but from what i can see their fees are actually pretty high if you work them out as a percentage of the $ you end up putting in on a regular basis.

Raiz is $3.50 per month for balances under $15k after which it jumps to 0.275% p.a and Spaceship is $2.50 per month with no extra fees. You have no choice in where your money essentially gets invested in. Seems that Spaceship, fees wise, is cheaper though.

Commsec is slightly more complicated and you need to know where you would like your funds to be invested as they have 7 themed investment options however Vanguard has been left off. This is not good for small amounts as you pay a brokerage fee of $2 per $1000 transaction and anything over that is 0.2%.