Sell the apartment or not?

Discussion in 'Property Experts' started by daisy01, 6th Jan, 2017.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
?

Should we sell?

1. Yes

55.6%
  2. No

44.4%
  1. daisy01

daisy01 Member

Hi Everyone,

Newbie here :). I came across this site while looking for solution for my situation. I understand I should talk to my bank which I will do next week, however in the meantime I need some advices to help me think further.

We bought 1 bedroom apartment off the plan in 2012 for 392k in Melbourne CBD. It's high rise and we purchased higher floor, settled in June 2014 and we moved in. Claimed 20k FHOG as well for this property.

Fast forward to 2017, we have 268k owing in this apartment @3.99 % P+I loan, and planning to buy PPOR for around 500-600k.

Now the problem is the deposit. We have deposit in total around 40k. I understand we will have to pay LMI.

Should we sell the apartment, but the price can be quite low but it will give us more for the deposit.
    Or should we keep it as IP and wait a little bit more? The rent can be from 400-420 pw. Is there any way to use the amount we have put in the current mortgage to help with the purchase of the new PPOR?
    Can stamp duty be capitalised into the loan?

Thank you in advance.

2. wylie

wylie Moderator Staff Member

If you can hold then you have what sounds like a nearly neutral apartment that should grow in value. I know nothing about Melbourne, and being one bedroom is a negative, but I'd want to hold it if I could.

If you'd put the extra into a set off account you could draw it out but you cannot do that now.

3. daisy01

daisy01 Member

Yeah unfortunately the 40k deposit is including the offset we have :(
    I checked my online bank account it says 24k equity in the property but I think it's not something we could use as additional deposit since I'm pretty sure the valuation will be lower than our purchase price.

4. The Y-man