WA Scarborough - Perths version of Bondi?

Discussion in 'Where to Buy' started by Scott Townsend, 21st Jun, 2017.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
Tags:
  1. Scott Townsend

Scott Townsend Well-Known Member

A little media clip about Scarborough, WA. A bit over Hyped and please don't get me wrong - I do not follow media when purchasing property. Interesting concept though.

Scarborough to be 'Australia's best beach'

What is every bodies thought on the future of property/property prices in Scarborough? Ive been keeping an eye on the area for several months and it seems a lot of blocks are being subdivided now, a lot selling around the 200m2 size but still a few what seems to be not too badder buys with the odd street frontage 390+m2 property coming available for the $550-$650k mark only 1-2km from the beach.

Is the lifestyle drivers that are going to be there in the coming 12 months going to be enough to boost property prices? Or will it be simply more attractive to younger generation who can not afford to live there anyway? Will Mum and Dads prefer to stay back a little around the Doubleview/Karrinyup area and purchase something a little bigger?

Public transport to Scarborough isn't the best and driving into the city in peak traffic is still going to take 45 minutes.

I would be buying to live in for a while aiming to get something that needs a good renovation or something that will likely be re zoned in the coming years to put a duplex on. I feel the more development that happens, the less there will be street frontage, green title houses which should increase prices within this kind of product.

Would love to hear others opinions

Scott

Perthguy likes this.
  2. Ross Forrester

Ross Forrester Well-Known Member

Maybe Scarborough is more like Coogee.

3. Ross Forrester

Ross Forrester Well-Known Member

Good spot to buy in though. Awesome beach.

4. Phase2

Phase2 Well-Known Member