Retirement strategy for someone who got lucky in the crypto market

Discussion in 'Investment Strategy' started by skriker, 26th May, 2020.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. skriker

skriker Member

Hi guys, I am currently 26 I am currently looking to retire early. I invested in crypto currency before the bull run and have accumulated a little bit over 300k after tax which I can invest in the property market. I am a software engineer currently on a 80k salary package in Sydney. My goal is to bring in 100k a year.

I am looking to buy investment properties in Australia. I was thinking of investing in places with a decent population and growth in cities such as Melbourne, Sydney, or Perth.

I am wondering what the best investment strategy for me could be is? I have read and done some research on how some people can retire on 3-5 properties but I am quite confused as I have been researching and doing some calculations based on assumptions.

Say if on average one property makes me about $6k per year, if I had 5 properties will produce me with an income of $30k I am confused as some people have said this can make them over 100k a year.

With a capital growth strategy, say I buy 5 apartments for 300k wait 10 years for 600k this will give me a total of 1.5mil before tax but I am looking for cash flow as I want to be able to get income immediately.

Just wanted to ask what would be the best way to maximise/capitalise on this great opportunity I currently have?

Thanks!

2. Lacrim

Lacrim Well-Known Member

GENERALLY speaking, and from a resi perspective, forget about living off rents. With a P&I regime in place, it'll take at least 20-25 years minimum before rents > all expenses including obligatory principal repayments. You could target higher cashflow regional areas but I personally wouldn't. I stick to metro areas b/c the demand is more stable and long term CG more predictable.