Renting Rooms Vs renting whole property

Discussion in 'Property Management' started by Becky123, 1st May, 2020.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
?

Renting Whole property or on a Room by room basis - Investment properties

1. Rent whole property

13 vote(s)
    86.7%
  2. Rent Room by Room

2 vote(s)
    13.3%
  1. Becky123

Becky123 New Member

Would your investment property make more money by renting out per room instead of the whole property? Would you do it?

I am a property owner myself and am looking to buy for investment, the more and more i work the numbers it seems to be better for me to rent out per room instead of the whole property... Which led me to wondering if other landlords would consider the same?

My background is Residential & Commercial Property Management, I'm also considering setting up a new kind of property management service that will allow for the management of properties on a room by room basis.

Would love to hear everyone's thoughts, feedback and criticism :)

Thank you

Pingu1988 likes this.
  2. wylie

wylie Moderator Staff Member

My parents had a house near uni and hospital that was rented by the room (five bedrooms, that's the maximum for non-related parties under normal lease). My parents didn't raise the rent enough, because this was easy, the house needed some renovation, and when my brother and I took over and finally decided they were getting very cheap rent, we increased the rent, and they left.

It worked for us though as we got in, renovated and sold it.

But even had we been getting market rent, it is more work to rent by the room. These were uni students and the work I did (self-managing) each time a tenant changed was a PITA (changing bond, updating names on leases etc).

I wouldn't do it again, but I know you can get higher rent by the room (if you are happy to accept more work and some downsides).

The Y-man and Antoni0 like this.
  3. The Y-man