Renovation and Maintenance - idea of a well-kept property

Discussion in 'Repairs & Maintenance' started by leonard157, 8th May, 2019.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. leonard157

leonard157 Active Member

Hi All,

Recently I've just successfully acquired my first IP in Marrickville, Sydney
    still in the 6wk until settlement :)

This property is quite old (around 100yrs) and as I'm quite new to Property investing, there's a voice in my head keep ringing "Reno, Maintenance, Repair, costly, Reno, Mainte..."

Any ideas where should I start? (professional, books, experts, mentors, courses,etc...)
    How can I keep a well-maintained property? I don't want some hidden minor issues undiscovered until it becomes big and expensive!

Should I trust a good PM to take care and advise on renovation and maintenance/repair work? :rolleyes:

2. Trainee

Trainee Well-Known Member

Tenants and pm have no incentive to hide issues.

3. Mel Morgan

Mel Morgan Sydney Property Manager Business Member

Hi, congrats on your first IP, Marrickville is a great area - lots of improvements, plenty of desirable cafes/areas, great resident mix. I just recently rented out a property in Marrickville and had some excellent applications.

I've dealt a lot with Victorian older properties (including full renos of a handful), but really there's limited 'hidden' issues. Did you do a building inspection when you bought the property? As an IP you really want to tenant it asap and see if your PM is proactive enough to advise on potential issues eg waterproofing, leaks, damp, pests, rot etc

If you can find a good PM then they will be able to partner with you on any maintenance/repairs.

4. leonard157

leonard157 Active Member

Couldn't agree more, I'm reading as much as possible and found that when it comes to property repair and maintenance, both tenant and PM are quite active :rolleyes::rolleyes: