Recommendations for Building and Pest Inspection in Greater Western Sydney Region.

Discussion in 'The Buying & Selling Process' started by Newbie_, 3rd Mar, 2021.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Newbie_

Newbie_ New Member

Hi everyone,

I am new to this process of buying a house hence if someone can answer below questions:
    1. Do all the inspections check all the required/standard things/areas etc or I need to specify any points?
    2. Are there any different type of Inspection packages?
    3. Would the inspection give me any idea for the price according to building condition as well?
    4. Any good companies in Greater Western Sydney Region and expected fees?

Thanks for your guidance!
    G

2. FrivolousPanda

FrivolousPanda Well-Known Member

1) There is an Australian Standard for building inspections, possibly for pest inspections too so most inspections will meet those standards. I've found what an inspection cover does vary between companies - see point below. Areas I've found they may not cover well are roof voids, on the roof, and subfloor - this may be due to access availability but sometimes I think also effort required. I've also found a high variability in the inspection reports I've read. Some give only brief descriptions, some have tiny pictures to longer more detailed reports to video.

2) Each to their own from my experience. There's building only, pest only, building and pest is very common. Some offer a more basic building inspection vs a more thorough one. Use of a thermal camera and drone is another option I've seen.

3) In regards to price of the property, I have never seen before. In regards to price to repair and remediate, some give written, some only verbal when asked