Ready to make a big investment move, what would you do?

Discussion in 'Investment Strategy' started by Des, 12th Jan, 2020.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Des

Des Well-Known Member

Hi, I’m a newbie to this group but stumbled upon you guys a few days ago and since then have been reading through and learning a lot. I never new something like this existed what a great idea! My husband and I have been thinking about our next move for 6 months but don’t really have many property investing friends to talk things over with and get a fresh perspectives. These are our ideas and we’d love to hear ‘what you would do’ in our situation. Sorry in advance this turned into a longer post than I anticipated, I hope I can return the favour and also be of some help to you all over time.

The situation:
    Melbourne based, mid 30s married couple with young family, 1 baby & plans to have another in the next 12 months although with paid maternity leave this doesn’t effect us financially just a lifestyle consideration. Husband working FT & wife works PT combined income 120k.

Current investments/financials:
    - 1 IP in Corio almost positively geared: worth 325k, owing 190k, bought 2013 same good tenants the whole time $275pw rent. 560m2 corner block near shopping centre.
    - 1 PPOR Reservoir, 3bdr 2bth front townhouse. Bought 500k 2016, worth 720k now due to growth and a lot of work fixing up the place (flooring, new laundry, deck, pergola, landscaping), owing 460k but 300k in offset (100k of this is from sale of an IP in Kangaroo Flat which had slow growth and inconsistent tenants & 200k was a gift from parents).
    - Borrowing capacity if we sold Reservoir is 580k - preapproval through mortgage broker.
    - Able to purchase something for approx 950k using full borrowing capacity, equity from sale and most of the money in offset account.