NSW REA Rent Figures

Discussion in 'Property Management' started by Ron, 8th Jul, 2020.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Ron

Ron Well-Known Member

Hiya,

Got in some RE agents on different days to go over my two properties to put up for rent in Western Sydney. I feel the majority of them underquote on the rent that could be achieved comparing them to the market for similar properties.

I could be wrong as I am a noob . But I feel they only have interest in leasing out as many properties asap (by having lower rents) so they can sit their arse on the little rental returns they get. I mean free money right?

Am I correct in this or am I being too hopeful? Has anyone else felt that agents may be under quoting rent figures that can be achieved?
    cheers

Cousinit likes this.
  2. balwoges

balwoges Well-Known Member

Ask the agent to advertise the properties at the rent you think they are worth for 2 weeks, no interest?, lower the rent to what the agent thinks is more achievable ... simple :D

Last edited: 8th Jul, 2020
  3. Trainee

Trainee Well-Known Member

Where does that newbie contempt for pms come from?

PurpleTurtle and Bradley Peet like this.
  4. Bradley Peet

Bradley Peet Well-Known Member

Haha this.

[​IMG]

Tom Rivera likes this.
  5. Tom Rivera

Tom Rivera Property Manager Business Member

It can happen both ways, but it's more commonly the opposite- BDM's will overquote to win the business (which the PM's HATE). It's called "buying" the listing, and it's also rife in sales.

Have you expressed your thoughts to any of the companies vying for your business and listened to their justification as to why you're 'expecting too much'? I think the way they deal with that objection would tell you a lot about their sincerity and approach.

Hayley Cannon and PurpleTurtle like this.
  6. The Y-man

The Y-man Moderator Staff Member