VIC Purchasing a land+ house in Doreen vs Beveridge

Discussion in 'Where to Buy' started by Ozziespider_90, 14th Jan, 2021.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Ozziespider_90

Ozziespider_90 New Member

I'm very new to the property market and having lived only in the inner suburbs of Melbourne for over 9 years, I ventured out to rent in Mernda for a year. I quite like it here and I don't see myself living anywhere further than 40km from the CBD.

It's about time I look into investing in a home I will be living in and I'm currently in a 4 bedroom house on a 300m2 land that is up for sale by the landlord for 520k :( which is a bit high for the amount of loan I can secure based on my savings.

I am only realistically able to afford a loan of $470k -480k(with 20% deposit) and don't know if It might be worth buying in a suburb like Beveridge where I can get a 4 bedroom with double garage for under $450k, but an infinity away in terms of driving to the city or other suburbs in the south east or spending upto $500k and buying a place in Mernda or Doreen where the commute is still manageable.

I've never taken out a loan in my life and mentally am able to justify a figure of 450.

Donnybrook, Mickleham or kalkallo are not a possibility as they share the same postcode as Craigieburn and i will be sharing the rent with my younger brother who is only able to live in certain suburbs of melbourne that are considered regional (due to his migration visa reasons) for the next 5 years.

The other reason is that my parents might be moving to Australia for a few years and I would like to have a place with enough bedrooms to either rent a room out to someone or have my parents live with me when they are here, hence the 4 bedroom instead of a 3. Might even invest now and sell in 5-10 years to get another house closer to the city.