Property in Gaythorne QLD

Discussion in 'Property Management' started by Amu, 6th May, 2019.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Amu

Amu Member

hi All
    i own an IP in Gaythorne (nth of BNE). The property purchase price was $465K in 2014 and now it is $480. It has not appreciated in the past 5yrs..my expenses are increases on this 3BR TH and the agent I purchased from tells me that the property prices in QLD will go high in near future.
    Want to get expert thots on this forum if it is worth keeping it or selling it?
    Thanks

2. Nattl3s

Nattl3s Well-Known Member

Im not an expert or a thot. I dont think you've held it long enough.

3. Amu

Amu Member

Is it worth holding...as I have already lost in last 5yrs by it not appreciating and worried if it will go down hill over the next few..
    Thanks

4. Michael Mitchell

Michael Mitchell Property Manager Business Member

If you buy real estate expecting to have a capital gain as if it's a guaranteed right, nothing but speculation and gambling, as you have zero control on the macro market factors that determine value a buyer will pay at a given time. If the property is not functional for you to hold, eg. cashflow unsuitable, then off load it. If you want a new PM then PM me, I can refer someone nearby. Perhaps they're not getting you enough rent for it...

5. Tom Rivera

Tom Rivera Property Manager Business Member

I cracked up at that!

@Amu I don't think you're going to lose money on it if you hold for longer, but I can't comment on whether the appreciation will accelerate. I guess it depends how negatively geared the property is and if you're missing out on other opportunities by holding onto this one?

6. Amu

Amu Member

How long should one hold an IP for it to know whether it is worth appreciable?
    it is 5yrs and capital growth is ZERO.
    Thanks

7. Amu

Amu Member

Hi thanks