Profits from townhouse development

Discussion in 'Development' started by Vishh, 23rd Sep, 2020.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
Tags:
  1. Vishh

Vishh Well-Known Member

Disclaimer : TImewaste post. I am just educating myself and may help some with the info . I am not a developer yet, but maybe in future. ;)

I am looking at this development site.They have a design for 15 townhouses/duplex but not DA approved yet.

Can anybody give rough idea on how much profit will the developer make.

upload_2020-9-23_16-40-27.png

My calculations

15 * townhouses / duples sale price : 750k * 15 = 11.25 mil
    Land purchase price : 4 mil + 210k stampduty = 4.21 mil
    Construction : 280k * 15 = 4.2 mil
    Misc (driveway ,interest paid during development etc ) = 1 mil

Total = 11.25 - (4.21 + 4.2 +1) = 1.84 million profit .

Is this guestimate reasonable?

Attached Files:

2. Dvlpr11

Dvlpr11 Member

Like you said guestimate. Youll have to factory in land holding costs, consultants costs, legal costs, agent commission, marketing, council and authority contributions, levys, etc

3. Vishh

Vishh Well-Known Member

Can that exceed 1 mil?

4. Dvlpr11

Dvlpr11 Member

It really depends. so many variables.
    Different councils have different fees and charges.
    Also depends on if infrastructure requires upgrading (sewer, stormwater, powers, etc)
    Agents commission can vary but at just 3% the agent would be taking $300k+

As a guestimate its all good and well but once you break down the costs and the have a full blown feasibility you'll see the real numbers

Vishh likes this.
  5. craigc

craigc Well-Known Member

Gst and income tax on profits!

Archaon likes this.
  6. Paul@PAS

Paul@PAS Tax, Accounting + SMSF + All things Property Tax Business Plus Member