Process for buying first home

Discussion in 'The Buying & Selling Process' started by AbleTasMan, 22nd Feb, 2020.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. AbleTasMan

AbleTasMan Well-Known Member

Hi! I’m hoping some of you on here could give me some help and guidance as to the process I should follow in buying my first home.

I have only started looking this year and that’s only been online, but it’s all pretty daunting and I’m a bit unsure how to go about actually buying. I don’t want to come across as a complete newbie when making a deal or talking to the real estate agents (as I’m sure they’ll take advantage of that), so am wondering what’s the actual process I should be following to buy my first place?

A bit of background, I’m in my 40’s, single (never married - no kids) and currently have full time work. I don’t really have anyone close to talk to about real estate and have never thought about property until now, but it seems like it may be a good time to buy before prices start going back up. I have done some reading up on it over the last 6 months but am still confused about the steps, and stuck on a few things I can’t work out. I have a lot of questions that may seam dumb, but please bare with me:

• Do I need a home loan pre-approval? Do I need this before going to open homes and making offers? (I have saved a lot over the years and have enough for 20-30% deposit. I’ve never been in debt and have always had a good credit rating.)
    • Is there any point using a mortgage broker? or should I just use an online comparison site to find a loan? (I already have bank accounts with Rams, Ubank and ANZ).
    • Is it worth getting a loan that has an offset account? Is this generally what people do?
    • Do I need a lawyer? where do I find one?
    • Do I need to get an inspection done? And what kind of Inspection is it? is this different per state? I’m in Tasmania.