Ppor strategy

Discussion in 'Investment Strategy' started by wontwothree, 1st Jun, 2020.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. wontwothree

wontwothree Member

Hi everyone! :)

I'm not a property investor other than an accidental one! My husband and I purchased out first home without much forethought, it turned out to be a good choice, both in terms of enjoyment factor while living there, plus the return we got on sale.

Now we're considering buying another ppor, and I'm actually thinking it through - my dilemna is funnily enough what to do with it! We had a particular location in mind (about four streets in a specific suburb): it's hard to get houses in this location because they're mostly all townhouses now, or being tightly held and not sold.

A property in our "ideal" location has come up now, it's being marketed as a development opportunity but has sat on the market a few months because the vendor's asking price doesn't make financial sense for developers (per my math) unless they're builders looking to buy themselves a job (and maybe not even then). However, the vendor is pretty set on his price, and we could afford to pay it since we're buying a ppor.

So my question is what to do with it if we bought it: it's a 750sq block, house is in front and I'm pretty sure could be subdivided to build a unit out back; however, we wouldn't be keen to do this, since it's a consumable (ppor that we'd like to enjoy) and our young kids would enjoy a backyard. But if I don't extend out back, I could keep that as an option should we ever need the cash; alternatively if my parents ever wanted to live with us, we could build them a unit/granny flat out back (this option is pretty unlikely, hopefully they stay spry and healthy and independent for a long time, but as a backup it feels comforting to have)