Place an offer or not...

Discussion in 'The Buying & Selling Process' started by Steveonthemove, 2nd Mar, 2020.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Steveonthemove

Steveonthemove New Member

Hi all,

I'll try and keep the story short!

I have found a property I like. It's central Sydney and is new to the market - auction is at the end of the month. There is a guide price which is within my budget - but from my experience of watching the property market closely for the past 6 months, property doesn't go for the guide price... or anywhere near! Looking at previous sales in the area, and core logic's valuation, the guide price is probably around $50K below the value. I have budgeted to spend $100K over.

I am a first home buyer and i don't want to go to auction - the process scares me. I am a contractor and although have a pre-approval from the bank and a good deposit, I just worry that full approval could go tits up!

Should i offer prior to auction, or am i just wasting my time? I have tried to gauge interest from the agent if they will entertain offers prior and they have said "I don't know".

Someone else also said to me the agent could then just use my offer to re-set the guide price while not accepting it.

What should I do? Make an offer? Forget about it?

2. Dan L

Dan L Well-Known Member