One month Airbnb stay?

Discussion in 'Airbnb & Short Term Letting' started by Ouchmyknees, 31st Aug, 2017.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Ouchmyknees

Ouchmyknees Well-Known Member

I'm new to Airbnb hosting, I have a couple enquired about my new place. They want to stay for one or two months.

They couple has no review and not ID verified, which is red flag to me. I told them I only accept guests with verified IDs.

How are other host's view towards longer stay? Say 30 days and more? Should I avoid it to mitigate the risk of squatters?

Thanks a lot!

2. Depreciator

Depreciator Well-Known Member

I have had plenty of long stays - one was for 12 months in a flat that is no longer on Airbnb.
    In the pad in my backyard, I have a bloke moving in on the weekend for two months and in January somebody moves into the same pad for 3 months. I like long stays.
    Scott

3. Jamie Moore

Jamie Moore MORTGAGE BROKER - AUSTRALIA WIDE Business Member

I would have thought the longer the better. Don't they have to pay upfront?

Can you ask them to verify their ID prior to accepting their request?

Also ask them why they're intending to stay so long. They might have a legitimate reason.

Cheers

Jamie

JacM and Ouchmyknees like this.
  4. Depreciator

I'm not sure people can make a booking on Airbnb if their ID is not verified?
    With long stays, people pay by the month. So when the bloke moves into my place on Sunday, Airbnb will send me the money for the first month on the Monday or the Tuesday. At the end of that month, they hit his credit card for month two and then pay me.

JacM and Ouchmyknees like this.
  5. Archaon

Archaon Well-Known Member

How do you combat squatting with Air-bnb, is it just a case of trespassing and you get the cops/sheriffs involved?

Ouchmyknees likes this.
  6. Gockie

Gockie Life is good ☺️ Premium Member