NSW - New Medium Density Housing codes

Discussion in 'Development' started by property_geek, 18th Apr, 2018.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
Tags:
  1. property_geek

property_geek Well-Known Member

There have been lots of noise in media about new housing codes to be introduced from 6 July, 2018

As far I understand the only advantage is, this will speed-up approval process from current 71 days via DA to 21 days via CDC.

New codes won't override any rules set in LEP. This means there is nothing that can be achieved via CDC(from 6 april 2018) that can not be achieved via council (DA) .

So, in a nutshell it will save a developer 50 days worth of holding cost of existing property. That's pretty much it.

Is my understanding correct?

2. The_Billy

The_Billy Well-Known Member

property_geek likes this.
  3. Rowan

Rowan Well-Known Member

I'm not an expert but it's a bit more extensive that that

- the minimum lot size if not specified in the LEP of the Council, you can refer to the minimum in the CDC which is quite generous
    - Frontage requirements override the LEP (which is what the article referenced above is referring to when it comes to benefiting narrow blocks)
    - different requirements for duplexes, terraces, manor houses etc. is very useful

As to the benefits of avoiding a DA, I'd imagine it's a lot more than processing time difference between lodging a CDC vs DA. The amount of people and time to engage with for a DA e.g. Architects, Town Planners, Builders etc. also adds to the cost savings. Keen to hear someone who's been through both a CDC and DA to comment on this cost saving.

4. Something_Wrong

Something_Wrong Well-Known Member

Speaking to my architect this will be a bit of a game changer for my local area (Ryde NSW) currently if your block is less than 20mtr frontage you cannot build a duplex.