newbie looking to develop and refine an investment strategy

Discussion in 'Investment Strategy' started by NewbieDude, 30th Aug, 2019.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
Tags:
  1. NewbieDude

NewbieDude New Member

Hi Everyone,

I am a newbie, and have recently started thinking about investing in property. I'm looking for some advice/reflections/chat on setting and refining a strategy for our investment goals.

I'll start by giving you a background to our situation.

I'm married, we are mid 30s, two kids aged 5 and 7. I have a home based business that could probably be described as part time/lifestyle (profit around 30k, growth potential to roughly double this), my wife works part-time in the community sector earing around 55k. Our current income and lifestyle situation is a deliberate stratergy, our aim up until this point is to have a relatively low-income, financially low maintainence lifestyle during this phase of our life, primarily to avoid commutes, before and after school childcare, and enjoy our children while they are young and invest time into our relationship with them. We are in a good position currently in regards to this goal, and enjoy our life as it stands.