Newbie looking for suggestion and advice

Discussion in 'Investment Strategy' started by ProOnFire, 16th Oct, 2018.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. ProOnFire

ProOnFire Member

Newbie here, please be nice and gentle.

We are in our mid 40s and have just purchased our next PPOR. We are thinking of our next investment journey move. My work colleague recommended us to this website, which I found really useful and have open our eyes to IP.

Current Situation:

Family of 4 with 2 children in early teens.

We sold our previous PPOR to purchase this new PPOR. We have been thinking of investing in property since 2012. However, we have been too pre-occupied with the mindset of upgrading our PPOR, and only wanted to pay off our PPOR as quickly as possible, and didn’t purchase any IP, so we missed the property investment opportunity of the last 5 years (Luckily we had our previous PPOR).

Current new PPOR worth $2M, with loan $1M. We split the loan into two parts consist of $700K and $300K. We also have approx. 300K cash. The idea was to put the $300K into the 2nd loan and then redraw it out for investment. Keeping the 2nd loan account like an investment account.

The loan is a simple loan with no offset, only redraw. We like offset, but the bank only offer offset facility with package loans which have a package fee and higher interest rate. So we chose the basic loan.

We want to start investing into IP, but want to get our strategy right. What should we do or should plan to do?

Thanks

2. Car tart

Car tart Well-Known Member

I would move to pay off your loan on ppsr as that is not tax deductible. With real estate ready for. Few years of stagnation if not price dropping, paying off your PPOR is number one in investment advice.

3. Shazz@

Shazz@ Well-Known Member

What’s your combined income?