Newbie Goals & Approach

Discussion in 'Investment Strategy' started by zebedee, 3rd Dec, 2015.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
Tags:
  1. zebedee

zebedee New Member

Hi all, I am new to this, although for last few years been reading lots of investing books including property books and lurked on previous forum. Never could pull the trigger on property previously, but a mindset shift is making me think its time.

I want to start with an end goal in mind and an initial plan, not just buy an IP for the sake of tax purposes. So to get a better understanding of the basics, I have put together some high level 10 year financial models so I could look at the cashflow impacts, negative gearing etc, before I talk to any brokers. I am not a finance guru, just anal about my personal budget.

Starting point
    • 300k available for a deposit(s)
    • Me late thirties, partner late forties
    • Both High Income Earners
    • Neither of us have IP or PPOR , we rent - and don’t intend to buy a PPOR together in Sydney, unless there was a significant drop in prices where we currently rent.
    • We both have other assets classes as part of our individual investment portfolio's

Goals
    • In 10 years have $4 million in property with $2 million as equity
    • In 5 -6 Years move out of the rat race of Sydney and buy a PPOR in QLD somewhere, I don’t expect to be retired at that point, but expect income will be significantly lower
    So I forecasted over 10 Yrs... buying 5 IP’s in first 5 years to the tune of $2million: in summary
    1. Buy $1-$1.2 million worth in the next 12 months (2 IP’s ) - we have the cash available for deposit and I believe this is serviceable based on salaries
    2. $1 million more in property over next 3-4 years (3IP's) - use some cash for deposits each year, but mainly leveraging capital growth from portfolio