Need experience to become a Registered Tax Agent

Discussion in 'Starting & Running a Business' started by andyboiii, 10th Jan, 2020.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. andyboiii

andyboiii Well-Known Member

Hi All,

I'm 35 years old, am a Chartered Accountant and work as a Senior Finance Analyst for a large global organisation. I have been an accountant in a variety of organisations, starting out at KPMG when I was a graduate in 2007.

I am looking to increase my experience and earn some additional income with a long term view to starting up a small practice of my own. In the short term, I am looking to further extend my property portfolio.

As I need 12 months full time experience to become a registered tax agent in my own right, I would love to perhaps partner with someone who is an RTA and could shadow me on a part time basis (weekends/after hours) so as I can still do my day job.

I could perhaps find some of my own clients and use your license to submit tax returns (only after they have been reviewed) and even do bookkeeping for additional income and we could split the fee for an agreed percentage.

If anyone knows of anyone that could help me out or perhaps point me in the right direction with some advice, I would be very appreciative.

Thanks in advance :)

Terry_w likes this.
  2. Ryan23

Ryan23 Well-Known Member

Hi Andy,

did you have any luck setting something up to get your experience?

3. Paul@PAS

Paul@PAS Tax, Accounting + SMSF + All things Property Tax Business Plus Member

Andys idea is not likely to be suitable experience. You must possess the experience requirements of the tpb and also across all forms of tax issues and for a required period of time. Without working in.practice...forget it. And then mentor sign off

Quals are one thing but experience is far harder. You cannot have clients then submit through others. Quite the opposite. Bookkeeping is not tax and practitioner work