Need advice on how to deal with dodgy builder. EDR or not EDR

Discussion in 'Legal Issues' started by SummerBlue, 9th Mar, 2017.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. SummerBlue

SummerBlue Member

Good afternoon. Desperately need your help on what best to do/how to deal with dodgy builder. Apologies in advance as it’s a rather lengthy story

I purchased an investment property in Marsden in Nov last year. It’s a high set 3 bedrooms house, downstairs was using as garage and storage which we intended to rent out after doing some renos. I’m a newbie and it’s our very first bite of Brisbane market and this is very first renovation experience. At the time of buying, we were in Sydney. After seeking recommendations we engaged a well known builder which I’m sure some of respectable investors in the forum have used before, as project manager. I asked him to give me a completed quote for turning the space downstairs into a living space completed with 2 bedrooms, kitchenette, a shower and laundry, and also fix up few other matters and the shower upstairs since there was sight of water leak. (Note: downstairs space is not of legal height). He visited the site number of times before the renovation began and told me he’d put all the team he has to work and it’d take max about 3 weeks to have it completed and agreed to start the work once the property settled which is on 21st Nov last year. We then received quotes. Few thing didn’t shown up in the quotes and I asked him, but always been told it’s just formal things, I don’t need to worry about it, it’s all included (I stupidly believed him).