Moving from Sydney to Adelaide to do Developments

Discussion in 'Where to Buy' started by Sasha holland, 29th Jan, 2018.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Sasha holland

Sasha holland Member

Hi everyone ,

I am a property strategist/valuer in Sydney and sell off plan/house and land in QLD, NSW and VIC currently.

Anyway, enough about me!! , hubby and I have a couple of houses in Sydney which we bought over 5 years ago, they have done very well and are now wanting to do some small developments (say two executive terrace homes, architecturally designed) or even a large reno/extension near beach (you know older home, modern extension, plunge pool etc), higher end.

We generally renovate on top of our current businesses, bit of a lifestyle thing for us ! Plus I am an agent so can sell off plan.

We dont want a huge amount of financial risk or mortgage as we are 40's with a young child, but we love Adelaide and are thinking about doing something middle ring (within 15 kms of city) or the beaches areas.

So a few questions.

1. Although lots of planned state spending, economy not strong in comparison to other states and population growth slowest in Australia, is this having an effect on middle ring development?
    2. Beach or Metro, whats your pick, any growth suburbs that are just about to crack?
    3. Has the boat sailed for spiltter lots and creating some really nice exec homes close to CBD
    4. Any opportunity for industrial conversions in the Adelaide? or even Church conversions.

We are looking at doing for profit, understanding that $$ is not as much in it as NSW or VIC by any means, but it is really affordable for us and we can do it with very little financial risk + as we said we LOVE Adelaide!

Anyone happy to chat or help out? Starting my DD and would love some pointers, very different market to what I am used too - Thanks Sash

Last edited by a moderator: 31st Jan, 2018