Melbourne | Home loan and tax suggestion

Discussion in 'Loans & Mortgage Brokers' started by humptydumpty, 5th Nov, 2016.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. humptydumpty

humptydumpty Active Member

Hello everyone ,

Newbie here and soon planning to buy my first home. Although this website is for big investors I hope you will not mind if I am first time buyer asking basic questions.

I am soon planning to buy 3-4 Bed room house in Melbourne outer northern suburbs. I am planning to spend about 400-470K. I am searching but still no luck.

I have saved about 150K and earn about 4k every fortnight after tax.

Last year I paid about 66K tax , but this year and beyond I want to be intelligent in reducing it.

Questions

1) I have read in posts by Terry of getting 105% loan and not to use any deposit , so what questions I should ask to bank about using that option in my home loan application.

2) How to plan better so that I can reduce my tax burden next year.

3) I am eligible for fho grant of $10k but I am not getting any good house which I like. Is it good idea to take house and land package and design and continue to live on rent till that time ?

What are some good tax and financial planners in Melbourne who can guide me. Also books which can guide me to be better make better financial decisions.

Thanks in advance

2. Ouchmyknees

Ouchmyknees Well-Known Member

1. That is for purchase of investment properties, it won't be applicable to you if you purchase your home as ppor interest is non-deductible, so the lower loan balance for you the better, in my opinion.