Maternity Leave & Loans

Discussion in 'Loans & Mortgage Brokers' started by Michael_X, 4th Sep, 2015.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. Michael_X

Michael_X Mortgage Broker Business Member

Hi PropertyChat,

Have a question and wanted to hear everyone's thoughts.

I have a good friend whose recently had their first child. He is looking to purchase more investment properties but needed to use his wife's full time income. She will receive 3 months full time pay, government benefits and around 3 months of no pay before returning to work.

What are the dangers if he goes and applies for a loan and leaves out the maternity leave information?

As a broker I've strongly advised against this as when applying for loans he needs to declare any upcoming changes in his application and it's not something I will do for him.

What are the risks he is facing if he goes down this road?

To add, we have already explored banks with good maternity leave policies like ANZ etc.

Thanks,
    Michael

2. bob shovel

bob shovel Well-Known Member

Are they certain that wife will go back after 6 months? things could change once the baby gets out. If i was him id want to be confident that one wage can cover it. If wifey chooses to stay home longer than 6 mths it will push back buying further plus one wage + child will hurt serviceability.
    I say do it... if the numbers stack up comfortably on one wage as it could be a while till next purchase. Would they then need to wait 3+ mths for payslips once wife returns to work?

Michael_X likes this.
  3. Jamie Moore

Jamie Moore MORTGAGE BROKER - AUSTRALIA WIDE Business Member

Hi Michael

Do they have a sufficient amount of savings to cover the non paid mat leave period?

Does it service with ANZ or Nab?

Cheers

Jamie

Michael_X likes this.
  4. Peter_Tersteeg

Peter_Tersteeg Mortgage Broker Business Member

Lenders have thought out their policies fairly well on this.