Long time reader, first time poster

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by lixas4, 22nd Dec, 2016.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. lixas4

lixas4 Well-Known Member

Hi, i have been reading pc and ss for a few years. I originally got onto ss when researching subdivisions when studying land surveying at rmit uni. I love this forum, there are so many smart investors/developers and other business members sharing their knowledge/experiences. Some days i read for hours!

I started my working career as an accoutant (cpa), working in large corporates then moved into small tax advisory. But was never truly happy. So i chucked it all in and went back to uni to become a land surveyor. I have been working at a small firm based in mentone (suburb of sth east melbourne) for the last 5.5 years or so. I love surveying. I have chosen not be a business member of pc at this stage. I am studying to become a licensed surveyor, until i am fully licensed i think i will stay a non business member.

I have done a couple of subdivisions over the last few years.

The first was our ppor. 2 lot sub in caulfield east. We kept the lovely old edwardian dwelling which is our house, and subdivided the back half which father in law built his dream house on. Heaps of objections from neighbours, issues with neighbourhood character, height, trees etc. But in the end we got more or less what we wanted at a panel/objectors meeting so pretty stoked and no need for vcat.

The second sub was at my parents place in beaumaris, they had built a two bedroom unit at the rear of their ppor 20 years ago when building at the rear was 'as a right'. Today it definately would not be allowed, issues with parking (only two onsite car spots for a 4 bdr and 2bdr -neither undercover and both in the front setback). This was the main issue, but after a meeting and a few phone calls with bayside city coucil the sub was allowed based on existing conditions.