Education & Work Long service leave

Discussion in 'Living Room' started by jins13, 2nd Oct, 2015.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. jins13

jins13 Well-Known Member

Hi,

Seems like it was only yesterday when I was a new graduate and had such lofty aspirations, now I am just happy to survive the week and still maintain all my hair (nearly all the guys at work have the same hairstyle). I could easily just let leave the LS leave untouched and use it when I really need it but I was thinking of testing out the waters in living in another area outside of Sydney. Not sure if it is due to my youth sapping away every passing year, but I feel the goal post is getting pushed further back from work. Maybe a scenery change is going to be great for me to recharge my battery and find my smile again. Its a bad feeling when you are plotting and planning on the manner of how you may quit your job and inform the boss!

In the process of also trying to convince the significant other that a move away from Sydney may be a good idea due to a better lifestyle, slower work pace, more time to spend with the family, people are generally nicer in country towns and of course reduce our overall debt levels by selling up. I know of two friends who did sell up in the Sydney market and relocated to Port Macquarie and Birkenhead (SA).

Thoughts?

WattleIdo likes this.
  2. wylie

wylie Moderator Staff Member

That is a decision only you and your partner can make, but if you do move, I'd keep the Sydney house and rent somewhere. You may never be able to buy back into Sydney.

ellejay, KayTea, C-mac and 6 others like this.
  3. Scott No Mates

Scott No Mates Well-Known Member

I have a colleague who moved to Port Macquarie about 10 years ago. He's back in Sydney now.

jins13 likes this.
  4. EN710

EN710 Well-Known Member