Loan Structure Advice

Discussion in 'Investment Strategy' started by MIana, 3rd Jun, 2019.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. MIana

MIana Member

Hi all,

I'm new to the PP investment world, I'm doing my research to plan out a proper loan structure for my first IP, and need some advice from you guys

My situation:
    - My wife and I bought a PPOR last year under both of our names. The loan was 515k split into a fixed rate account 260K and variable rate acc 255K, the variable account has redraw facility only. We then received a gift from our parents and put it straight into the variable account. We have redrawn from it many many times for personal purposes.

- As of now, the balance is
    • Fixed rate acc: 248k
    • Variable rate acc: 125k + 120k redrawable.
    - The estimated house value at the moment is about 800k

We now want to maximize the loan to 80% which is about 640k to release some equity to use for the IP. We are planning to pay that 120k off to the bank to bring down the balance to 373k? refinance it to get
    - Loan A: 373k, security is the PPOR
    - Loan B: 267k (640-373) as a LOC, security is the PPOR - this will be used for IP deposit + stamp duty + other related expenses only.
    - And when we buy the IP, we'll apply for a loan C, secured by the IP itself

I'm seeking some feedbacks for this plan. Is there any other way to make it better? This is our first investment, so just want to make it good from the beginning.

Thanks,

2. Jess Peletier

Jess Peletier Mortgage Broker & Finance Strategy, Aus Wide! Business Member

Hey Mlana,

That sounds fine on the face of it.

I wouldn't get a LOC though, they're expensive and the risks tend to outweigh the benefits.