Loan options for financing IP

Discussion in 'Loans & Mortgage Brokers' started by pinewood, 13th Oct, 2015.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. pinewood

pinewood Well-Known Member

I purchased my first IP in July and am now on a mission to learn more about what I should have known and didn't when I invested. As a result I am arming myself with books, attending seminars, reading through this forum which I unfortunately stumbled upon only later and trying to make up for lost knowledge!

So as a newbie I would like to know if what I did to secure my loan was advisable in terms of financing my 1st IP as reading around most people seem do an equity release from their PPOR for the 20% deposit but when I applied for my loan through Bank West I took up a 100% loan ($405K) from equity of my PPOR. I thought that was my only option. Is this considered a bad loan structure? Would it have been better for me to have done a line of credit?

My question is how can I moving forward put in place a strategy to purchase more properties?

2. Terry_w

Terry_w Lawyer, Tax Adviser and Mortgage broker in Sydney Business Member

pinewood likes this.
  3. pinewood

Thank you so much Terry, I really appreciate your response. I was afraid that was the case but now I know better and I will do something about it. I wonder why I was not given the options as with my ignorance I thought it was my only way of getting finance for my 1st investment property and that was how it was. :)

4. Terry_w

Terry_w Lawyer, Tax Adviser and Mortgage broker in Sydney Business Member

Lenders will generally not give you alternatives as this benefits them. If you default they have more collateral which they can take possession of.

5. Peter_Tersteeg

Peter_Tersteeg Mortgage Broker Business Member

Here's an overview of practical reasons to avoid cross collateralisation:
    https://propertychat.com.au/community/threads/cross-collateralisation-10-reasons-to-avoid.153/