Life financial guidance wanted

Discussion in 'Investment Strategy' started by virtual_mark, 20th Jul, 2021.

Join Australia's most dynamic and respected property investment community
  1. virtual_mark

virtual_mark Member

Hi all.

I am very new to Property/investments in general and would like to hear some of your advice. I am currently trying to do some research so would love to hear any experiences or be pointed in the right direction.

Here's the break down of my particular situation.
    I am 31 and engaged to my fantastic fiance. We have been travelling Australia for 2+ years and love the lifestyle.
    Neither of us have any debts other than my HECS (including credit cards, personal loans)
    I am currently working temp as a teacher and have employment for the foreseeable future on contract. My partner has recently started her own business not currently generating income due to covid but we are hopeful.
    Total income aprox 100k pre tax and 20k savings

Our goal is to travel again in around 3 years for an extended period of time, however this time around i would like some financial security in terms of a property or similar.
    We will save up a large portion of money but will not be earning a guaranteed income whilst travelling.
    I was thinking of looking into buying a cheap property that is cash flow positive. ie sub 200k My thoughts behind this is:
    • Looking for a buy and hold / set and forget property
    • cheaper means easier to save for deposit and more likely to get a loan.
    • Cash flow positive so that we do not have any extra expenses on the road (not expecting a net income from the property, although this is always welcomed)
    • Would love capital gains, but possibly not an option in the areas where we could afford at the risk of having too large of a mortgage if interest rates rise/no tenant and we have to service the loan
    • Not looking at any tax benefits when travelling as wont be paying much/any tax